Librarian in the Wild

musings

Well, I've done it again. I've managed to not write a single word all week until the last minute. In my defense, life has been a bit crazy. But, I promise I will, at some point in the very near future, get back to the regularly scheduled programming my two adoring readers love so much.

I'm sure by now you've started to wonder what is making Librarian in the Wild's life so crazy they can't manage to write a few words a day to make a blog post. Well, please keep reading and I'll tell you all about it.

Read more...

Any other bloggers out there ever wake up on the day you normally post new content and realize “Damn, I haven't written a single word all week.” Yeah? Me too.

Read more...

I spent the last week traveling for work. I got home yesterday afternoon, minutes before the kids got home from school. I was excited to see them. Video calls are great, but just aren't the same as seeing someone you love and care about in person. We played a bit. I unpacked. I put on a load of laundry.

Read more...

This archive page is a quick way to access all of my older content.

If you are looking for a listing of blog posts by year, please use this Archive page.

If you prefer hashtags for finding related content, here is a list of all of the hashtags I use on this blog.

General Hashtags:

#blog #books #familytime #first #friends #musings #parenting #response #reviews #work

#bluecollar #bluecollarlibrarian #hiring #librarian #libraries #library #literacy #management

#fishing #kayak #microadventures #nature #outdoors #spring

I'm an avid reader of Noisy Deadlines. In fact, discovering Noisy's blog is how I found out about the Write.as platform. I had been looking into starting a blog again via WordPress or Blogger, but after stumbling across Write.as I thought I would enjoy it more. So far, so good. I like the simplicity of it, the small internet feel, the lack of ads, but I digress.

If you're curious as to why I started blogging again, and you haven't read my first post, Why This Blog, you might enjoy reading it, or you might not. There's only one way to find out.

Anyways, why am I talking about Noisy Deadlines? Noisy's latest blog post, Embracing Lighter Reads struck a chord with me. So, I wanted to add to the conversation.

Read more...

Other than fall, this is my favorite time of year. Despite the havoc the pollen plays on my allergies and the awfulness of the time change, I love spring. It doesn't last long here, so I always try to enjoy it while I can.

Read more...

Buckle up. This is going to be a ramble.

My favorite part of the day is the early morning hours. I like to wake up around 5:30 and have a bit of quiet time to myself before the spouse and kids wake up. I'm an introvert. This is my recharge time before I have to face whatever the world will throw at me that day.

If it's during the week, I use this time to get ready for work, drink coffee, read the Atlantic, or local news. Then, I like to fiddle with a crossword or the Wordle.

Read more...

Gray Days. You know the ones I am talking about. The days when mist hangs all around in the air encompassing the leafless trees in a hazy crown. Limbs stick out of the mist like arms clawing for something better. Reaching for light that's not there. Everything is wet. The ground muddy from days of rain, but no sunshine is available to dry things out. Sweater weather.

The kind of day where you want to stay inside, sip warm drinks, eat soup. Stay in bed. But you can't. You're an adult. You have to drag yourself up by your bootstraps and leave the house earlier than normal because the wet, fog ridden roads will slow your commute.

I love days like this. I think gray days lend themselves to introspection. They make us, well, me atleast, want to draw in. Yet, at the same time, days like this make me want to hit the woods. Have a twig fire. Make cowboy coffee and read a book or journal while sitting under a tarp out in the woods.

Unfortunately, it's a Thursday and I have to go to work.

#musings #work

Discuss...