Early Mornings

Buckle up. This is going to be a ramble.

My favorite part of the day is the early morning hours. I like to wake up around 5:30 and have a bit of quiet time to myself before the spouse and kids wake up. I'm an introvert. This is my recharge time before I have to face whatever the world will throw at me that day.

If it's during the week, I use this time to get ready for work, drink coffee, read the Atlantic, or local news. Then, I like to fiddle with a crossword or the Wordle.

When I don't have to work, I still like to wake up early. Those quiet morning hours let me enjoy too many cups of coffee while I read or write things like this blog post.

I'm more alert and productive in the morning hours. When I'm at work, I seem to get most of my boring paperwork-esque stuff out the way quickly. This allows me to spend my afternoons working the reference desk, updating the library's website or reading book reviews, and assembling book orders. I certainly do paperwork in the afternoons when required, it just seems to take much more effort on my part. I'd hate to say I'm a morning person, but it certainly seems that way.

What I'm Reading

I love historical fiction. Particularly, anything medieval. Think Bernard Cornwell, Karen Maitland, etc... I just finished Dan Jones' second foray into the fiction realm with Wolves of Winter. The story follows a band of misfits, The Essex Dogs, as they are on campaign during the Hundred Years War. The characters are dark and crass. I absolutely love them. I can't wait until the third book releases.

I've been reading a ton of grimdark fantasy lately. I'm currently enjoying Adrian Selby's The Winter Road. I'm not sure how to describe it, other than bloody, but the alternate timelines and the folky way it is written are intriguing to me.

I'm one of those people that read multiple books at once. Thanks ADHD! So, I also always have an audiobook for my commute. I'm listening to John Gwynne's The Shadow of the Gods. It's a crazy viking/monster slaying romp through a broken world. I also have Good Inside by Dr Becky Kennedy queued up on audio for when I finish Gwynne's book.

I've also been slogging my way through James Michener's The Source on ebook. This is my first Michener book. I'm liking it. The archeology bits speak to my history buff soul. Sure, the book is a bit dated in terms of Israel/Palestine relations, and how women are portrayed, (It was published in 1969) but it's still a good read. Like all of Michener's works, the scope of The Source is monstrous. I have no idea how he kept it all straight while writing.

The Future

In other news, I've been working on a post about my youngest child's 1000 Books Before Kindergarten experience, but it's not quite ready for the world to see. Maybe next week, maybe not.

I have a lengthy list of library related post ideas, just need more time to flesh them out. I do want to keep things casual, like this one, but every once in a while I may come up with something a bit more in depth.

The weather seems to be making a turn for spring, so maybe some more outdoor posts will be on the horizon.

I'd love to keep writing, but today is one of those Saturdays that I have to work.

Until next week!

#musings #blog #books #librarian