Librarian in the Wild

management

This should have been posted a month ago, but I've been going back and forth on whether or not I wanted this much potentially identifing info about me out there in internet land. As I am posting this, I guess I got over it.

Read more...

Well, I've done it again. I've managed to not write a single word all week until the last minute. In my defense, life has been a bit crazy. But, I promise I will, at some point in the very near future, get back to the regularly scheduled programming my two adoring readers love so much.

I'm sure by now you've started to wonder what is making Librarian in the Wild's life so crazy they can't manage to write a few words a day to make a blog post. Well, please keep reading and I'll tell you all about it.

Read more...

This archive page is a quick way to access all of my older content.

If you are looking for a listing of blog posts by year, please use this Archive page.

If you prefer hashtags for finding related content, here is a list of all of the hashtags I use on this blog.

General Hashtags:

#blog #books #familytime #first #friends #musings #parenting #response #reviews #work

#bluecollar #bluecollarlibrarian #hiring #librarian #libraries #library #literacy #management

#fishing #kayak #microadventures #nature #outdoors #spring

The library I work with has recently undergone some staffing turnovers. For us, this is unusual. Most of our staff, even part-time, have multiple years under their belts. It's always hard, for multiple reasons, when someone leaves.

For me, other than the feelings involved when someone you have worked next to for years leaves, the difficulty lies in the work associated with finding their replacement.

Read more...