Librarian in the Wild

bluecollar

This archive page is a quick way to access all of my older content.

If you are looking for a listing of blog posts by year, please use this Archive page.

If you prefer hashtags for finding related content, here is a list of all of the hashtags I use on this blog.

General Hashtags:

#blog #books #familytime #first #friends #musings #parenting #response #reviews #work

#bluecollar #bluecollarlibrarian #hiring #librarian #libraries #library #literacy #management

#fishing #kayak #microadventures #nature #outdoors #spring

If you want to read the first post in this series you can find it here. It has all of the background information for this series.

The general premise, however, is that many blue-collar skills translate well into library work. That is, a general understanding of certain blue-collar skills can be beneficial to a librarian. There is no scientific evidence or any scholarly articles I can link in order to back up this theory (I guess there could be, I honestly haven't looked). I'm just going on my own lived experience for this series. My knowledge from working in the trades has served me very well in the library world.

In my first post in this series, I covered my experience working in a diesel mechanic shop and how I leveraged my skills in the parts department to land my first library job. Today, I want to talk about basic construction skills.

Read more...