A Momentous Occasion

This is a few weeks later than what I had hoped for in Early Mornings, but I wasn't happy with it. I made extensive edits, and I am much happier with this version. I hope you enjoy reading about my child's accomplishment as much I did in getting there with them.

1000 Books

My youngest child recently completed their 1000 Books Before Kindergarten (1KBBK) journey. It was a huge moment for us. We started this adventure with them the day they were born. Yes, I took board books to the hospital!

This child came home in a Harry Potter themed onesie that had the famous “when in doubt go to the library” quote from Hermione on it. So in a way, I was almost required to take board books with us to the hospital.

Anyways, I couldn't have been more proud to see my kiddo holding up the library's “I read 1000 Books Before Kindergarten” sign for the requisite photo op. They were happy too. Hugest smiles I've seen on that little round face. As a proud parent I'd love to share a photo of that smile, but that would just give away too much personal info. You'll just have to satisfy yourself with knowing that my kid was cute as hell in their 1KBBK photo.

So, thanks to my kiddo's hard work, I thought it would be apropos to discuss the program. I don't want this to be a “how to do 1KBBK in the library guide,” per se. I can do that, if you all are interested, but I would rather discuss our experience as participants. Parent and child.

If you do want a how to start a 1KBBK program at your library guide, drop some comments or send me an email, stating such, and I will happily draft something a bit more formal.

If you're in the library world it is highly likely that you have heard of the 1000 Books Before Kindergarten Program (1KBBK). However, if you are new to the profession or are on the outside looking in, here is my brief summary of this popular program.

What is 1000 Books Before Kindergarten

1000 Books Before Kindergarten or 1KBBK as I prefer to call it, is a 501c3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to “promote reading to newborns, infants and toddlers to encourage parent and child bonding through reading.” In short, 1KBBK is an early literacy initiative used by libraries all over the US. The point being to foster a love of reading while building the foundational literacy skills needed for learning how to read once a child enters kindergarten.

The number of books is arbitrary. The whole idea is to build the habit of reading, encourage literacy skills, and hopefully foster a love of reading that will last a lifetime. Plus, there is the bonding time with your kiddo, which, in my experience, as they grow older and more independent becomes more and more precious.

I have two children. I did not know about 1KBBK when my oldest entered the world. I was in an entirely different profession at the time. I wish I could go back in time and change that. The bonding and love of books I have been able to grow in my youngest child has been amazing. I do hope that love carries over into their older years. Will it? I don't know, but the foundation is there. Don't believe me? The proof is in the pudding, as they say.

The Pudding

Not too long ago, my youngest attended their first book fair. We later learned that their teacher was amazed at how my child ran past all of the little trinkets and toys because they were more excited about all of the books on display. The other kids were more interested in the gizmos, and posters than they were the books. #Proudlibrarianparentmoment. Let me tell you.

Why Start 1KBBK With Your Child

So, from the parent's, and not librarian's perspective, why should you start the 1KBBK program with your little one?

First, as I have already mentioned, is the time spent together. Time is one of those things you can't get back. As my favorite Stoic philosopher Marcus Aurelius once said “Time: How brief and fleeting your allotment of it.”

I want to use that brief allotment to have positive interactions with my children. If they learn something along the way, all the better. Toddler lap cuddles only last for a short window of time. Then they grow up, and it can sometimes take an act of Congress to get a cuddle. Take this opportunity to get them while you can.

I've already touched on the second one a bit, but fostering that love of reading in my little one is hugely important to me. I love books. Always have. They were a huge part of my life growing up, and continue to be. As a parent, I want to instill that same love and appreciation of the written word in my children.

Plus, reading comprehension is HUGE. I have several friends that are teachers, and they tell me all the time how many middle school aged children are struggling in school because they are reading and comprehending text on an elementary grade level. If I can give my children one more tool to be successful in life by reading a few bedtime stories, then I want to do that. I also enjoy it. There is some amazing children's literature out in the world right now.

Reading or hearing language through songs, talking, etc..., is vitally important for a child's brain development. Children under five have brains like a sponge, they soak everything up. They are constantly building new neural pathways. Studies show, I won't link them as they are pretty easy to find with a Google search, that children who are read too, sang too, talked too, in other words, hear more language, are more likely to be successful in school, read sooner, have improved vocabularies and more. Creating that language-rich environment in our home through a simple program like 1KBBK has many benefits for parent and child.

My little one doesn't always want a bedtime story, but when they do, we typically have to read two to three to satisfy their curiosity. We have our favorites that we read on repeat. Moo, Baa, La, La, La by Sandra Boyton. We have read that one so much both of us can recite it from memory. Go Away Big Green Monster by Ed Emberly is another favorite, along with Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown or Chicka Chick Boom Boom by Bill Martin Jr. (I can almost recite that one from memory). Thankfully, I work in a place with a ton of children's books to choose from, and we have a regular round of fresh books to read. Pro Tip: You do too at your local public library!

If you have an infant, toddler or pre-school aged kiddo, give 1KBBK a try. As a parent, I truly think it's well worth your time. If not for the benefits to your child's development, do it to enjoy the time with your little one.

Until next week.

#blog #librarian #libraries #books #literacy #familytime #parenting